New Jersey’s No-Fault Insurance: Zero or Verbal Threshold
If injured in a New Jersey auto accident, depending on your insurance policy and the extent of injuries, you may be able to take action against the responsible driver. In the Garden State, all drivers are required to have No-Fault automotive insurance.
Under the No-Fault system, if you are involved in a car accident and suffer an injury, you must rely on your own insurance policy to pay for medical expenses and other economic damages stemming from the accident. Under the minimum policy, you have coverage for as low as $15,000 per person per accident or for as high as $250,000 per person per crash in personal injury protection benefits for some severe conditions, including brain and spinal cord injuries. However, when purchasing No-Fault insurance, you have a choice ― Zero Threshold or Verbal/Limitation on Lawsuit Threshold.
If you choose the Verbal Threshold or Limitation on Lawsuit Threshold insurance option, you may only file a claim against another driver if the accident causes the following types of injuries:
- Significant disfigurement
- Significant scarring
- Displaced fractures
- Loss of a fetus
- Permanent injury
If you choose the Zero Threshold insurance policy, you may sue the driver responsible for your injuries for the full range of damages and personal injuries, including non-economic losses, caused by the crash.
Motor vehicle accidents happen in the blink of an eye. Your first priority after a car crash should be your health. Secondly, you should seek help from an injury law firm. An experienced lawyer can fight zealously for your right to compensation.